Tuesday, March 18, 2008

Bell Award

Congrats to Stan Douglas for winning the Canada Council/Bell Award for outstanding achievement in video art. The $10,000 prize has been awarded annually since 1991 for exceptional contribution by a video artist or artists to the advancement of video art in Canada and to the development of video practices (videotapes, installations or web-based video art). Stan Douglas joins the ranks of previous winners including John Greyson, Steve Reinke, Chantal duPont, Serge Murphy and Charles Guilbert, Robert Morin and Lorraine Dufour, Paul Wong, Lisa Steele and Kim Tomczak, Zacharias Kunuk and Norman Cohn, Sara Diamond, Luc Bourdon, Vera Frenkel, General Idea, and Nelson Henricks. The prize presentation reception will be held later this spring.

No comments: